February 2017 marks the 50th anniversary Canyon Cinema! We will celebrate our laudable legacy while showcasing our vibrancy as a contemporary media arts organization through a multifaceted thirty-month project encompassing a screening series in the San Francisco Bay Area; US and international touring digital and 16mm film programs showcasing newly created prints and digital access copies; and an educational website including new essays, ephemera, and interviews with filmmakers and other witnesses to Canyon’s 50-year history.

Canyon Cinema is thankful for the long term support of the George Lucas Family Foundation. Dedicated project funding for Canyon Cinema 50 has been generously provided by the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, National Endowment for the Arts, Owsley Brown III Foundation, Phyllis C. Wattis Foundation and The Fleishhacker Foundation.

San Francisco Bay Project Partners:

Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive, Exploratorium, Pro Arts Gallery, Owsley Brown Presents

San Francisco bay Presenting Partners:

San Francisco Film Society, San Francisco Cinematheque

Special thanks to:

Adrianne Finelli, Bryan Boyce, Starline Social Club, David Dinnell, Nathaniel Russell, John Schmidt, Micheal Renov, Michelle Puetz, Paul Clipson, Mike Henderson, The Mutants, Amanda Salazar, tooth, Natalia Mount, Sarah Lockhart, Kate MacKay, Susan Oxtoby, Liz Keim, Sam Sharkey, Noah Cowen, Tina Tom, Owsley Brown III, David Kasprzak, Colpa Press, Nima Khazaei, Arielle Estrada, Faith Arazi, Carl Martin, and all the members Canyon Cinema Board of Directors and volunteers,  Canyon Cinema 50 Planning and Advisory Committees.

Planning Committee:

Antonella Bonfanti
Max Goldberg
Kathleen Maguire
Seth Mitter
Steve Seid
Jeffrey Skoller

Advisory Committee:

Steve Anker
Owsley Brown III
Peter Conheim
Joseph DelPesco
Shelley Diekman
Brian Frye
Kathy Geritz
Irina Leimbacher
Scott MacDonald
Jonathan Marlow
Christine Metropoulos
Rebecca Meyers
Rachel Rosen
Melinda Stone
Tess Takahashi
Mark Toscano
Sean Uyehara
Tanya Zimbardo
Mike Zryd

Canyon Cinema 50 logo designed by David Kasprzak (Colpa Press)